Everything I learned from One year of writing as a Developer

Everything I learned from One year of writing as a Developer

If you are a developer, you should start writing right now.

One and a half years ago when I started writing, I didn’t know much about writing. I didn’t know the power of content. I was just writing because I saw a lot of people were doing it.

But today, I realized that writing helped me in a lot of ways in my career and thinking capabilities. It broadens your horizon and takes you deep into the topics you are learning.

I am so happy that I am writing and I will be writing. I think every developer should start writing. In the course of one and half years, here are the things that I learned from writing blogs for the internet.

It makes you think

I write on a variety of topics from Cloud Computing, DevOps to programming. When I start writing on a particular topic, I go deep into the subject and try to understand as much as possible. Which makes me think a lot.

It broadens your mind

When you do writing about technical stuff, you have to do a lot of research. You can’t simply write bull sh*t. You have to understand the topic deeply. So much study or research really broadens your mind.

It connects with people

Over a year, I have met a lot of people who appreciate my work. They always try to keep in touch with me. Writing really helps me to connect with like-minded people all around the world. I have made really good relations with my readers on various social platforms.

Opportunities

One of the important things is you get a lot of opportunities if you start writing. A lot of people approach me telling me that they have some work to get done. Whether it is a ghostwriter, a blog for their products, or something else. I have worked with SIX clients in one year. All short-term contracts.

Side Income

If you are looking for a side hustle, then writing on Medium can be a good option for you. At first, you need to focus on your content rather than money. I didn’t monetize my blogs for the first eight months. And after that, I started making at least $100 a month.

Also due to my writing, I got the opportunity to work with different clients. I have worked with more than TEN clients in one year. Some of them paid me up to $1000 for a single story(I am sorry I can’t specify the client due to NDA). All I can say is start writing today, over time a lot of opportunities will be on your way.

Let’s Wrap Up

I have been constantly improving my writing skill. There is a lot to learn. The only struggle I have to do is with my English. English is not my native language. But still, people are loving my writing skill. Otherwise, I am constantly sharing my knowledge through my blogs. And I will continue at the end. I have so many blogs in the pipeline. Feel free to reach me if you have any questions. I also own a publication called Towards AWS (towardsaws.com). Which publishes articles on AWS Cloud development. Thanks for taking your time. Much love. ❤️

This article was originally published here.